Writer’s Block

Image

Writer’s Block. Everyone has it at one time or another. If you have not yet had it, it is coming. As everyone has had it, everyone has a remedy or two. I decided it’s time for me to put my two cents in.

1. Caffeine always helps. Personally, I hate coffee so tea is my drug of choice. Coke (Coca Cola) will do in a pinch as well. Just choose which one works for you and stick with it.

2. Get into character. One time, I was having a hard time writing a scene where my protagonist had to come clean to her love interest about her motives.  I couldn’t get relate to the type of panic she was feeling so I couldn’t move on. A few days later, I put into a situation where I understood that level of panic. I finally knew how she should handle the situation and my writer’s block disappeared.

3. Do something completely different. Sometimes your brain is just exhausted and it needs a break. Take a walk, watch a movie, take a nap. Who knows, maybe that movie will give you exactly the inspiration you needed in the first place. Weirder things have happened.

So what do y’all think? What are your favorite remedies for writer’s block? What did I miss? Comment and let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

