What It’s Like To Fall Out Of Love With A T.V. Show

   Full disclaimer: I have never been in love or fallen out of love with a person. That being said, I imagine that falling out of love with a person is a lot like falling out of love with a t.v. show. Now if you don’t know, there was this wonderful show that premiered in 2011 called Once Upon a Time. It was about the fairytale characters we all grew up with being transported to a small town in Maine. The main character’s name is Emma Swan and she is the daughter of Snow White and Prince Charming.  Why am I mostly using the past tense?

Because this isn’t what the show is about anymore. In the beginning, it was about hope and family. Now it is about tired tropes, lazy writing, and as many characters from any mythology that they can cram in. I could go on, but ragging on the show isn’t the point of this post.

To that point, the first step still looks like love. You look at every spoiler website and have an online community and possibly in person people that you talk to about it. The twist is when all that talking turns from “Oh my gosh that was awesome and I love it!” to “Why did they do that? That wasn’t necessary.” It starts small at first, but it progressively gets worse and worse.  My first step was in season 3 when they *SPOILER* killed off Neal. If you don’t know, Neal is the father of Emma’s child Henry and was part of a love triangle between them and Captain Hook. Yes I’m serious. Look it up.

I was upset, but I figured two things. One, nobody ever stays dead on this show. Two, they had a plan. I still trusted the writers. During the Wicked Witch of the West arc, I made it through because I had faith that it would get better. I retained that faith until step 2. Step 2 is when the writing gets sloppy. That came near the end of season 4. See, they killed of the Wicked Witch at the end of Season 3, but somehow she has been masquerading as Maid Marian, Robin Hood’s wife, for half of a season. There is no satisfactory explanation for why this happens. At this point, you watch the show because you are still emotionally invested in the characters and care enough to see what happens to them. That is until step 3. Step 3 is when you realize that the show that you loved is gone and it’s not worth caring about the empty shell that still exists. This is the last straw. No amount of curiosity can save this relationship.

What happens then? I imagine the same things that happen after you break up with a person. These things include retail therapy, substitution, tears, emotionally eating, etc. It physically hurts your heart to see what the thing you loved has become and so you pour yourself into other things.

What shows have y’all fallen out of love with? Is your experience the same as mine?

3 thoughts on “What It’s Like To Fall Out Of Love With A T.V. Show

  1. Oh no, I’m sorry to hear you totally fell out of love with the show. It does have a lot of lazy writing. I feel like the second half of each season is always better than the first. Like, they don’t know how to fix the messes they make or introduce a new problem, so they wing it and see what happens because they’re on a deadline, then kill it off mid-season and start a new thread leading to season finale. I haven’t seen season 5 or 6, but I did love that they did what they did (do you care about spoilers anymore?) at the end of season 4. Something about the show… I just feel happy to accept it for the giant mess that it’s become, since the message at the end of the day is still: do what’s right, believe in love, and Regina is sassy.

    But I fell out of love with Supernatural. Queer-baiting, Sam needs to die for any of Dean’s INTENSE development to be substantial and/or meaningful, stop killing all the ladies.

    • I don’t care about spoilers anymore. I have a few friends that still watch and they keep me relatively well updated. I have never watched Supernatural. The reason for this is that it would scare the everloving crap out of me. I don’t get scared as easily now as I did when I was a kid, but I’m still fairly easy to scare.

      • I had no idea Supernatual was a horror show when I started watching it, and the first three seasons really were about the horror. I was terrified AND surprised when I started, haha.

Leave a Reply

